Tribute In Light

TRIBUTE-IN-LIGHT-WTC-01-FB-32MP
Tribute In Light – F/10 @ 30 sec, 24mm, ISO 100, click for L

In the year 2000, the company I worked with in the Philippines sent me with 3 other guys for satellite communications training in Phoenix, AZ. The host there took us to the Grand Canyon, my first shock and awe of American landscape.

Early 2001 my visa was approved to work in the US, great, until September 11 happened. We were glued to the TV watching what was going on and witnessed the horrible things in New York. My flight to the US was delayed because of it. I was able to fly New Years day 2002. That was very exciting for me to be here in the US for the second time and I said I was gonna stay a little bit longer. Now it’s been almost 13 years and I am forever grateful to America. I am able to provide for my family and the freedom, convenience of living here in the US.

Well anyway, me and my friend was working in Maine and when it was time to go home we decided to drop by New York to photograph the tribute light for the anniversary of 911. We went to our favorite spot and of course there were gazillions of tripods. Everything was cool though, we got a decent light and nice weather.

It was a bit of a challenge to stitch panorama the scene because of the amount of people that was in my frame and the ferry boats messing up the water. I metered in the buildings that got me F/10 at 30 seconds. That was all my setting in the 7-frames I took.

Never forget!

One thought on “Tribute In Light

  1. My husband and I were vacationing in San Francisco the weekend before 9/11. We finished our tours early on the tenth, so we got the last flight out of San Francisco that night back to San Diego. Originally we were supposed to leave San Francisco on 9/11 on a noon flight. If we had not made the 9/10 late flight, we would have been stranded in San Francisco for the day.

Leave a Reply

