Cascade Falls in Virginia

CASCADES-FALL-02-FB-WEB-97MPCascade Falls – F/7.1 @ 1/2 sec, 24mm, ISO 100, ND8, 97MP

We were in Virginia/West Virginia area and from google it says that Cascade Falls is the best waterfall in Virginia! We decided to drop by and take a look. We chose the more difficult 2 mile hike route because we were tough, so I thought. Man, I am out of shape. My friend and I used to trail run 5 miles before, but since January I have been on and off with my fitness regimen. I am just too occupied with my work, that’s my excuse, LOL.

Cascade Falls is a 66-foot drop waterfall that can be found in Jefferson National Forest in Pembroke, VA. It is just about north of Blacksburg.

CASCADES-FALL-01-FB-WEB-93MPThe Cascade – F/22 @ 1 sec, 24mm, ISO 100, ND8, 93MP

The most important thing when shooting waterfalls is the shutter speed. I look at how big the waterfall is and its speed. The faster it is the slower the shutter speed I use in my camera. Here I used 1/2 to 1 second. You need to meter to the water falls and then compose.

For those who like to shoot waterfalls, hold it until the fall season. Your photos will look better with all the colors in the fall foliage. And also you can’t be lazy because most waterfalls are hidden and hiking is needed, for real! 🙂

Leave a Reply

