One week in Maine! Pt. 1

PEMAQUID-2ROWS-02-FB-77MPPemaquid Point Lighthouse – F/22 @ 1 sec, 24mm, ISO 100, 77MP, click photo for L

Lighthouses are of no use for modern sea navigation, with all the advances in GPS technology, ships don’t need them to navigate the shores. They are just there for adornment, a tourist destination, specially in Maine.

I had limited composition in Pemaquid lighthouse because it was during sunset and there was a lot of tourists that I could not position my tripod without someone in front of me.

I was intrigued by Schoodic Peninsula in Winter Harbor still a part of Acadia NP, we went there for a sunset. Should have been a sunrise because we were in the wrong side of the coast! I love the rocks here, pretty cool!
SCHOODIC POINT-FB-32MPSchoodic “Croc” Point – F/13 @ 10 seconds, 24mm, ISO 100, ND8, 32MP, click photo for L

My friend and I went to Bass Harbor lighthouse for a sunrise. We were alone there the whole time, no tourist at all. The water was very calm and the light was soft, time for some long exposure. It was very low tide but I found a way not to make that visible.

BASS HARBOR-FB-02-77MPBass Harbor Head Light – F/22 @ 13 seconds, 24mm, ISO 100, ND8, 77MP, click photo for L

The last two photos I have used a 3-stop ND filter(ND8) to prolong the shutter to the desired speed. Study the light long before you push that shutta!

Hope you like them and have good week end!

2 thoughts on “One week in Maine! Pt. 1

Leave a Reply

