Lens for Macro Photography

f/5.6, 60mm, ISO 100, 1/250 sec, -1EV, flash fired

04/02/2012. My blog about Spring Floral Macro Photography was freshly pressed and my inbox was overwhelmed and I am thankful to all that checked it out. I got 4,500 hits, 108 new followers and 230 likes in one day. I have just been blogging for a month and I am FP’ed! Awesome!

Macro photography is another term for close up photography. You can pretty much use any lens and do close up shots of anything and call it a macro. Before, I used a Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8 lens at 200mm to shoot macros but it was backbreaking to do. I had to be like 2 feet away from the subject and I had to use a tripod all the time because I’d lost focus when hand holding the camera.
Taking your macro photography to another level is buying a real macro lens. It does not have to be expensive at all. Leave the expensive stuff to the pros because they have some showing off to do, lol. If you are using a crop-sensor Nikon DSLR the Nikkor 40mm f/2.8 is a pretty good starting lens and for FX Nikon DSLR the Nikkor 60mm f/2.8 is a good one as well. The 60mm f/2.8 is what I have and it’s sharp.

If you have an extra money the Nikkor 105mm f/2.8 is even better. This is for serious macro photographers or the pros. You don’t need to be very real close to the subject unlike with the lenses I mentioned above, you must be 2 inches from the subject. I am sorry that I only mention Nikon lenses here. I have no idea about the others.

Here are the other photos I took with the 60mm macro lens:


f/4.5, 60mm, ISO 100, 1/200 sec, 0EV, no flash

f/3.2, 60mm, ISO 100, 1/80 sec, -1EV, flash fired

f/5.6, 60mm, ISO 100, 1/250 sec, -1EV, flash fired


f/5.6, 60mm, ISO 100, 1/250 sec, -1EV, flash fired

f/5.6, 60mm, ISO 100, 1/60 sec, -1EV, flash fired

Everything was shot in manual mode and I used remote trigger flash. All shots with less than 1/200 sec I used a tripod and shutter release cord.

Go out and enjoy the spring and shoot some macros!

Abe

34 thoughts on “Lens for Macro Photography

  1. Nice article.. I’ve found the Sigma 105mm f/2.8 lenses to be decent as well (and half the price of the Nikon). Focussing can be an issue with this lens but there is a switch to limit focus. On the other hand, most time, macro is done with manual focus anyway!!

  2. Really great shots. I have never been too excited about Macro photography myself, but such great shots might actually convince me to try my hand at it!

  3. Your pictures are awesome and I think it’s fantastic that you explain what you did to take your shots..thanks for sharing your experience. I am a beginner photographer and I really appreciate the coaching.

  4. Your pictures are amazing. Thanks for sharing your notes on how you took your pictures. I am a beginner
    and it is a big help to me to be able to read what you are using/doing etc. Congrats on your great blog.

  5. Awesome post! I’ve been considering a macro lens for my Nikon D3100 but I have no idea which macro lens to buy.lol I also want to buy a small tripod as well because I’ve realized that it would help a bunch.

Leave a Reply

